Inspirational women: Mary “Mother” Jones, 1830-1930

I saw one quote from Mary “Mother” Jones, and I had to read more on this amazing woman, especially as I feel that I can relate very much to the quote:

“I am an organizer, an agitator and an aggravator. I act because I love humanity.”

Mary Harris “Mother” Jones, 1905

Some of her other quotes are pretty damn motivating as well, and you can see how she could have riled up the authorities with her opinions and “fight not flight” attitude to life:

http://www.motherjonesmuseum.org/information/quotes/

For more info on Mary “Mother” Jones:

http://www.biography.com/people/mother-jones-9357488#synopsis

http://www.motherjonesmuseum.org/

It is wonderful to know that there are so many inspiring ladies in history – it just takes one a bit longer to find them, as they are not celebrated quite so much as men.

After all, it is said that, “History is written by the victors” – and men have been the “victors” for a couple thousand years now.

I believe it’s time to give men a break, let them take a back seat, and put their legs up – learn to meditate and understand that they do not need to be aggressive or preempt aggression with aggression.

#wishfulthinking

Note: I am completely aware that not all men are of the same ilk, or women for that matter… I am making a generalisation based on the majority of incidents throughout history.

Leave a Reply

