…my life changed dramatically

The tanks had not yet rolled into Kuwait,
Saddam Hussein had not yet tried to annexe my birthplace.

Nor had Bush Senior sent troops to defend Saudi Arabia
– Operation Desert Storm was still in the making.

CNN hadn’t yet aired the live news broadcasts from the front line.
Nor had Iraqi’s yet named this the “Mother of All Battles”.

So when my family and I,
Were packing up for holidays that year,
We never thought to say goodbye.

But to this day
I remember the shorts and t-shirt I wore
The heat of the morning
Before we all got in the car
Putting the trash out one last time
Waving to our new house
Then passing the Sail Monument to Manama
Getting on that plane
Thinking we’d see that beautiful place again…
I was a very fortunate child –
My playground was the Island of Bahrain.

25 years today, I remember.

4 thoughts on “25 years ago today…

    1. Thank you… it changed my life, and put me on a path I didn’t necessarily want to be on, and which has taken me about 25 years to realise, and to appreciate. Sometimes one just can’t let go of the anger, even if one knows it’s for the best. I’ve let go now. I don’t feel like I’m chasing my past anymore. I have learned, thanks to the universe 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

