Jojo, I simply do not want to be with you…

Why did you tell me that you love me, that you always have, and only just worked it out after nigh on 3 years?

Why tell me that I am “the one, and always will be”?

And then you said goodbye, told me we couldn’t try.

Told me it’s too hard, we’re too far apart.

Life got in the way, that now you hold another’s heart.

But how do you know?

Have you never fought for something, for someone, in your life?

Have you never taken a blind step of faith towards something, or someone, in which you believe?

Why tell all, then snatch that rug out from under me?

I knew how I felt, and I was bottling it up. I know we live in different countries, and I was prepared to just not talk about it, to just leave you to get on with your life.

It’s so selfish.

We could have just walked away, and we didn’t even need to say the words – we both already knew, and understood.

We already said goodbye that night under the star spattered sky and the full face of the moon.

Now you’ve just confused me.

I didn’t think you would say anything after that last night –

I thought that the next time we met, we would be lovers, and then we’d return to our individual lives.

Or else, you or I would meet someone else, and just respectfully let the other know, without admitting all the other emotion.

I’m just not sure now, if you were trying to ask me to compromise last night, if you were trying to see if I would fight the fight.

It would have just been so much easier had you said,

“Jojo, I simply don’t want to be with you.”

And that was the end.

4 thoughts on “Jojo, I simply do not want to be with you…

    1. Lol sometimes yeah, agree. But most of the time it’s a beautiful magic to be shared. This just threw me a wee bit – just unexpected that owt was said. He’s a good friend too, kind of why I thought there was an understanding, ya know? D’oh, humans and our emotions…!! Ah well, as they say in France, “c’est l’amour!”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “True love is like ghosts, which everyone talks about and few have seen.” Francois de La Rochefoucauld (French writer)

        “You, yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.” Buddha

        Like

Leave a Reply

