A little meditative reading

Being alone
Reading, no, chomping my way through books.
These are things I did to protect myself, my sanity.
I drowned in science fiction and fantasy
to escape the truth.
In so doing I drew strength from the characters, saw the heroes never give up.
That’s survival, isn’t it?
Now alone
No one to escape from, I wish to read again.
I start a book
Either sci fi or nonfiction
But can’t get into it
I lose my concentration.
I think I associate
Reading
With a past life.
So all that energy
That feeling
Reignites.
This is a process of letting go
Of learning to love again
Never giving up hope –
You’ll learn to rescue yourself.

Thoughts for meditation this morning.

“In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.”

“Work out your own salvation. Do not depend on others.”

“You cannot travel the path until you have become the path itself”

“You will not be punished for your anger, you will be punished by your anger.”

“To conquer oneself is a greater task than conquering others”

~ Siddhartha Gautama, Buddha

3 thoughts on “A little meditative reading

  1. These are some great quotes — spot on, with the anger ones.

    And the opening of the poem pretty much sums up my entire adolescence — the middle describes a thing i went through recently that might be called a “dark night of the soul”, and the conclusion: the path.

    Yes yes yes!

    Like

    1. Yes, you’re so right there, again. These are meditations I’m currently working on – I believe that in order to let go one must allow oneself to be hurt by remembering again; then just continue looking at those memories while you walk away. “Dark night of the soul” – you cracked me up with that one 😀 I read some of “Autobiography of a Yogi” as well as “My Land, My People” yesterday – they are such intense books that I can’t read them all the way through; I have to read, breathe, take in, meditate, then meanings kind of settle. Otherwise my brain explodes!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

